This Site

News Story

Gottlieb Oehrlein to receive John Thornton Memorial Award (AVS)

Gottlieb Oehrlein to receive John Thornton Memorial Award (AVS)

Prof. Gottlieb Oehrlein (IREAP/MSE)
Prof. Gottlieb Oehrlein (IREAP/MSE)

Prof. Gottlieb Oehrlein (IREAP/MSE) was selected to receive the 2019 John Thornton Memorial Award from the American Vacuum Society. The Thornton Award is conferred every two years, and recognizes "outstanding research or technological innovation in the areas of interest to AVS, with emphasis on the fields of thin films, plasma processing, and related topics".
In addition to receiving the award and citation, Prof. Oehrlein will present an honorary lecture at the 2019 AVS International Symposium in Columbus Ohio taking place in October of this year.

April 23, 2019

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

Mohammad Hafezi Wins 2020 Simons Foundation Investigator Award

Legacy through Impact: Dr. Darryll J. Pines

Hafezi, Hu Named Blavatnik Finalists for Second Straight Year

Pines: Stand in Solidarity, Unite Against Injustice

Promoting Diversity and Addressing Unconscious Bias

Elizabeth Paul named Princeton Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow

IREAP Congratulates Michael Nastac (University Medal recipient)

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts