This Site

Graduate Student Seminar Schedule - Fall 2019

Lab ImageThe winners of the Best Graduate Student Seminar Speaker for Spring 2019 were Lisa Krayer for her talk titled "Near Infrared Photoresponse from Co-sputtered AuAg Alloy Thin Films" (Advisor: Assoc. Professor Jeremy Munday) and Artur Perevalov for his talk titled "Forecasting Time Evolution of the 3M Sodium Sphere with Reservoir Computer" (Advisor: Professor Daniel Lathrop).  

Seminars for Fall 2019 are scheduled for Fridays at 12:00 p.m. in the Large Conference Room, 1207 Energy Research Facility. Everyone is welcome. Pizzas with a variety of toppings will be provided free of charge for graduate students; others will have to contribute a small fee of $5.00. Submit your requests for pizza toppings and refreshments to Artur Perevalov at

The mission of the IREAP Graduate Student Seminars is to give graduate students the opportunity to practice short presentations of their work. This is a stepping stone for preparing them for their thesis defense, Ph.D. proposals, or even conference presentations. It is a valuable skill for all professionals, and students should be eager to present their work.

The talks will be informal with an approximate duration of 30 to 45 minutes allowing questions for about 15 minutes. There shouldn't be any stress since there is no evaluation committee coming up with grilling questions. Everyone is welcome to be in the audience.

After the conclusion of each talk, graduate students in the audience will fairly rate the speaker on a scale of 1-5 for Technical Merit and on a scale of 1-5 for Presentation. The total score will be averaged and the highest scoring speaker at the semester's end will receive a monetary prize for "Best Speaker." In the case of a tie, the winner shall be the speaker with the largest number of audience members providing ratings.

For additional information regarding the IREAP Graduate Student Seminar Series, please contact Artur Perevalov at

Past Winners of the IREAP Graduate Student Seminar Best Speaker Award

Top of page