This Site

News Story

IREAP Class of 2013

IREAP Class of 2013

Photo: University of Maryland
Photo: University of Maryland

Ph.D. Degrees

  • Caitlin Williams (Physics), "Optoelectronic Experiments on Random Bit Generators and Coupled Dynamical Systems," Advisors: Professors Rajarshi Roy and Thomas Murphy
  • Taek Il Oh (ECE), "Intense Terahertz Generation via Two-Color Laser Filamentation," Advisor: Assistant Professor Kiyong Kim
  • John Platig (Physics), "Making Predictions and Handling Errors in Reconstructed Biological Networks," Advisor: Associate Professor Michelle Girvan
  • Meghan Driscoll (Physics), "Amoeboid Shape Dynamics on Flat and Topographically Modified Surfaces," Advisor: Associate Professor Wolfgang Losert
  • Gilad Barlev (Physics), "Synchronization of Network-Coupled Chaotic and Oscillatory Dynamical Systems," Advisor: Professor Edward Ott
  • Wai Shing Lee (ECE), "The Effects of Coupling Delay and Amplitude/Phase Interaction on Large Coupled Oscillator Networks," Advisor: Professor Edward Ott
  • Chad Ropp (ECE), "Nanoscale Manipulation, Probing, and Assembly Using Microfluidic Flow Control," Advisor: Associate Professor Edo Waks
  • Karl Schmitt (Physics), "Network Algorithms for Complex Systems with Applications to Nonlinear Oscillators and Genome Assembly," Advisor: Assistant Professor Michelle Girvan
  • Myung Park (ECE), "Chaotic Oscillations in CMOS-Integrated Circuits," Advisors: Dr. John Rodgers and Professor Daniel Lathrop
  • Remington Reid (Physics), "Microwave Emission and Electron Temperature in the Maryland Centrifugal Experiment," Advisor: Professor Richard Ellis
  • Ching Pui Hung (Physics), "Stabilization of MHD Turbulence by Applied Steady and Oscillating Velocity Shear," Advisor: Professor Adil Hassam
  • Zhigang Pan (ECE), "Modeling the Resupply, Diffusion, and Evaporation of Cesium on the Surface of Controlled Porosity Dispenser Photocathodes," Advisor: Professor Patrick O'Shea
  • Mark Herrera (Physics), "Complex Flows in Granular and Quantum Systems," Advisor: Professor Edward Ott
  • Jupiter Bagaipo (Physics), "Nonlinear Interchange Modes near Marginal Stability," Advisor: Professor Adil Hassam

Masters Degrees

  • Shilpi Gupta (ECE), Advisor: Associate Professor Edo Waks
  • Kamal Poor Rezaei (ECE), "Transverse Control of Beams with Space Charge in a Ring," Advisor: Professor Patrick O'Shea and Research Professor Rami Kishek
  • Ruifeng Pu (ECE), "Near-THz Gyrotron: Theory, Design, and Applications," Advisor: Professor Victor Granatstein
  • Luke Johnson (Physics), "Electron Acceleration via Chaotic Heating in Two Counter-Propagating Electromagnetic Waves," Advisor: Professor Thomas Antonsen

July 1, 2013

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Protection Collections Abound for Local Health Care Workers

Researchers from Poland report results aided by UMD's AIM Lab

Slam Dunk at Alumni Cup

Clark School Graduate Engineering Program Ranked 20th Nationally

Robert Briber Named Interim Dean of Clark School

2020 Hulka/Wells Energy Fellowships Awarded

Hafezi, Antonsen, Sprangle receive 2020 MURI Awards

Dean Pines Named University of Maryland's 34th President

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts