This Site

Return to Faculty Directory

Gary Rubloff

Rubloff, Gary

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Distinguished University Professor
1128 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building

Research Interests: 

Professor Rubloff's research interests include biomaterials and biomicrosystems (bioMEMS), programmable biopolymer deposition, bioMEMs devices, process integration, packaging, and control, multifunctional nanostructures for energy storage and capture, biofabrication in MEMS microsystems, biomedical and sensor applications, atomic layer deposition (ALD) process, mechanisms, and technology, nanoscale devices for quantum computing.


In 1973 he joined IBM Research, Yorktown Heights, NY, as a research staff member in the Physical Sciences Department, where he worked on surface and interface scicnce.  In 1984-85 he served as technical assistant to the IBM research vice-president for logic and memory, and from 1985 to 1991 he continued his research while serving in several capacities as manager of exploratory materials and processing in the Silicon Technology Department.  From 1992-1993 he was manager of thin film process modeling in the Manufacturing Research Department.  From 1992 to 1997 he was also professor adjunct in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Yale University.

In 1996 he joined the University of Maryland as a professor in the Department of Materials and Nuclear Engineering and the Institute for Systems Research.  He served as the director of the Institute from 1996 to 2001. In 2004 he was named Minta Martin Professor of Engineering and assumed the position of founding director of the Maryland NanoCenter, a subunit of IREAP.


Professor Rubloff received a B.A. in physics, magna cum laude, from Dartmouth College in 1966, a M.S. in 1967, and a Ph.D. in 1971 in physics from the University of Chicago. He held a postdoctoral position in physics at Brown University from 1971 to 1973.

Honors and Awards: 

He is a fellow of both the American Physical Society and the American Vacuum Society.   He has received the following awards: the UMD Minta Martin Professor of Engineering (2004), UMD Outstanding Invention Award (2009,  2014); the A. James Clark School of  Engineering Senior Faculty Outstanding Research Award (2015); and  the UMD Distinguished University Professor (2016).

Orcid: 0000-0002-1901-3982