This Site

News Story

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

Professor Thomas Murphy (ECE/IREAP).
Professor Thomas Murphy (ECE/IREAP).

Professor Thomas Murphy has been selected as a 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland.

The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher program recognizes a small number of faculty members each year who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement along with equally outstanding accomplishments as teachers. Nominees for the award are selected by their peers; the winners are chosen by a panel of former Distinguished Scholar-Teachers.

Murphy studied physics and electrical engineering at Rice University, graduating with joint B.A./B.S.E.E. degrees in 1994. He then studied electrical and computer engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, earning his M.S. degree in 1997 and his Ph.D. degree in 2001. He was a member of the technical staff at MIT’s Lincoln Laboratory from 2001-2002.

Murphy joined the faculty at the University of Maryland in 2002. He is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and in the Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics (IREAP). He has been director of IREAP since 2012.

Murphy's research interests include terahertz and microwave photonics, two-dimensional optoelectronics, integrated optics, nonlinear and ultrafast optics, electrooptics and nonlinear dynamical systems. His research broadly aims to explore new devices and techniques that improve the speed, sensitivity, resolution and efficiency of optical communication and sensor systems.

He is a recipient of a National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency’s Young Faculty award.

Murphy has been recognized for excellence in both teaching and research at UMD. He received a George Corcoran Award from the ECE Department, and he received the Clark School’s Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award and the E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty.

Murphy is joining a number of ECE Distinguished Scholar-Teachers, including:

  • Professor Sennur Ulukus, 20162017
  • Professor Reza Ghodssi, 20142015
  • Professor Min Wu, 20132014
  • Professor Carol Espy-Wilson, 20122013
  • Professor Patrick O’Shea, 20102011
  • Professor K.J. Ray Liu, 20062007
  • Professor Howard Milchberg, 20052006
  • Professor Michael Fu, 20042005
  • Professor Rama Chellappa, 20032004
  • Professor Steven Marcus, 20002001
  • Professor Isaak Mayergoyz, 19951996
  • Professor William Destler, 19921993
  • Professor Christopher Davis, 19891990

Related Articles:
Munday Receives DARPA Young Faculty Award
Former Chair of ECE and VP for Research, Dr. Patrick G. O'Shea, Named President of the University of College Cork in Ireland (UCC)
Munday’s research aims to mitigate climate change through radiative cooling
Radioactive Material Detected Remotely Using Laser-induced Electron Avalanche Breakdown
ECE and MSE Researchers' Work Featured on Cover of Advanced Optical Materials
Munday, Ha, and Collaborators' Research featured on the Cover of ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces
UMD Physicists Discover “Smoke Rings” Made of Laser Light
UMD Researchers Creating First Onboard Fast-Charging System for Electric Vehicles
NSF Funds Novel Research to Create Scalable Wireless Networking, Averting Usage Crisis
UMD Researchers’ New Nanoscale Solar Cells Could Revolutionize Solar Industry

May 18, 2020

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

Timothy Koeth Elected to National Museum of Nuclear Science & History Board of Trustees

Mohammad Hafezi Wins 2020 Simons Foundation Investigator Award

Legacy through Impact: Dr. Darryll J. Pines

Hafezi, Hu Named Blavatnik Finalists for Second Straight Year

Pines: Stand in Solidarity, Unite Against Injustice

Promoting Diversity and Addressing Unconscious Bias

Elizabeth Paul named Princeton Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts