This Site

Plasma Theory Group

The Plasma Theory Group is part of the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics at the University of Maryland.  IREAP has participating researchers from the Departments of Physics, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Geology, Materials Science and Engineering, and the Institute for Physical Science and Technology.

The Theory Group is most active in magnetic fusion (simulation and theory), intense laser plasma interactions, magnetic reconnection, space plasma theory, high power coherent radiation sources, high performance computation, advanced algorithm development, and theory.

Faculty Members:  Thomas M. Antonsen, Jr., William Dorland, James F. Drake, Jr., Michelle Girvan, Adil Hassam, Edward Ott
Research Scientists:  Marc Swisdak, Matt Landreman