This Site

Workshop on Opportunities, Challenges, and Best Practices for Basic Plasma Science User Facilities

Workshop Home

Videos of Workshop Presentations and Discussions

Workshop Charge

Important Dates

Workshop Registration

Lodging, Food, Local Transportation & Parking

Agenda (PDF)

Topic Areas and Leads

Topic Area Materials

Topic Area Participants

Workshop Webcast

Workshop Report

College Park, MD & Vicinity

Visa Information

Inquiries: Workshop Registration and The Hotel at the University of Maryland

Inquiries: Workshop Organization, Goals, and Content



University of Maryland College Park, MD • May 20-21, 2019
(Location: The Hotel at the University of Maryland)
Co-chairs: Howard Milchberg (Univ. of Maryland) and Earl Scime (West Virginia Univ.)

Workshop goals:

  • Identify and discuss compelling topics in plasma physics that require facilities larger than typically operated by single-PI groups.
  • Discuss lessons learned from the operation of open user facilities, collaborative facilities, user networks, and larger single/few PI facilities in the plasma physics and related scientific communities. Extract from the discussion guidance to be offered to potential future facilities, NSF, and other agencies regarding what works well.
  • Discuss advantages and disadvantages for investments in user facilities under constrained resources.

Workshop format (2 days):

  • First day: Presentations on science topics, moderated discussions, breakout sessions
  • Second day: Presentations on facilities' experiences and best practices, moderated discussions, breakout sessions, recap from science areas

Topic areas and leads:

  • Quantum properties of dense plasmas: Gilbert Collins (U. Rochester), Sam Vinko (Oxford Univ.)
  • Plasma in super-critical fields: Alec Thomas (U. Michigan), Stepan Bulanov (LBNL)
  • Single component plasmas, dusty plasmas, and matter-antimatter plasmas: Joel Fajans (UC Berkeley), Eve Stenson (Max Planck)
  • Laboratory astrophysics: Carolyn Kuranz (U. Michigan), Petros Tzeferacos (U. Chicago)
  • Relativistic laser- and beam-plasma interactions: Felicie Albert (LLNL), Warren Mori (UCLA)
  • Coherent structures and energy dissipation in plasmas: Jim Drake (U. Maryland), Mike Brown (Swarthmore)
  • Controlled production of chemical reactivity: Mark Kushner (U. Michigan), Steve Shannon (NCSU)

The meeting organizers gratefully acknowledge the support of the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Energy, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, and the Office of Naval Research.

Webmaster: Dorothea F. Brosius, IREAP